Shmuel Oren Inducted into National Academy of Engineering


Earlier we announced that IEOR Professor Shmuel Oren had been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Today, it is official — Shmuel has been inducted to the NAE for his contributions ‘to the integration of decisions and cooperative market mechanisms for adaptive multisource electrical power systems.’ 

Shmuel is the second IEOR professor to join the academy after Robert M. Oliver. In total there are now 81 engineers from UC Berkeley in the NAE including IEOR joint faculty Richard M. Karp and Christos Papadimitriou, Dean Shankar S. Sastry, and others. The full list of UC Berkeley members can be found here.

Congratulations to Professor Oren!