Javad Lavaei Wins 2016 Donald P. Eckman Award

March 16, 2016 The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) has just announced that UC Berkeley IEOR Professor Javad Lavaei will receive the 2016 Donald P. Eckman award for “fundamental contributions to optimization and control theory, with applications to design techniques for electrical power networks, internet congestion, and antenna beamforming.”The award is given annually to outstanding engineers under the age of 35 who study automatic control. Past recipients include S. Shankar Sastry, the current dean of the college of engineering at Berkeley.  The award will be presented to Javad at the next American Control Conference on Thursday, July 7, 2016 in Boston.